Grimes Releases Sprawling New Guitar Song ‘My Name Is Dark’

New song is the latest single off her upcoming album Miss Anthropocene


Grimes dropped a new electro-rock song titled “My Name Is Dark” on Friday. Written, produced and engineered by the artist herself, the track is the latest single from her album, Miss Anthropocene.

Set in a cyberpunk dystopia colored by climate change and rapidly progressive technological advancements, Grimes has toyed with an array of characters in her latest songs: from an robot soldier in the war on humans (“We Appreciate Power” featuring HANA”), to lovesick space cowgirl (“So Heavy I Fell Through the Earth”) and Earth personified (“Violence” featuring i_o).

In “My Name Is Dark,” Grimes lets loose her inner party monster, ready to be numbed by whatever substance she can get her hands on. “The boys are such a bore/The girls are such a bore,” she sing-songs along to a gritty guitar riff. Blanketed beneath layers of ambient noise she purrs, “I don’t need to sleep anymore/That’s what the drugs are for.”

Miss Anthropocene is due for release February 21st via 4AD.

Miss Anthropocene Track List

1. So Heavy I Fell Through The Earth (Art Mix)
2. Darkseid feat. ?PAN
3. Delete Forever
4. Violence feat. i_o
5. 4ÆM
6. New Gods
7. My Name Is Dark
8. You’ll Miss Me When I’m Not Around
9. Before The Fever

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.